Gov Newsom requested a Presidential Disaster declaration for Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mendocino, San Bernardino, San Diego, and Siskiyou counties because of the fires being battled there. This declaration would add these counties to those already granted Presidential disaster status from the August fires.

The counties that have already received Presidential Disaster status from the August fires are Butte, Lake, Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma and Yolo.

A Presidential Disaster declaration provides a number of resources and tax relief to individuals and businesses impacted by the fires in those counties.